Comma Club Highlight: Austin Vaughan

Tell us a little bit about yourself!

I am a senior exercise science major. This year I am a family relations assistant for DM. This is my second year doing DM. I’m not in greek life and had not heard of DM my freshman year. Once I found out about DM my sophomore year, I decided it was something I was very interested in. I loved participating my Junior year and wanted to do more my Senior year. Now that I have a position, I believe that I need to be a role model for others in fundraising. I have a passion for music and found a way to incorporate it into my fundraising. Every time a person donates to my account they can give me a song they want me to cover and I will post it on my Facebook. It has turned into a great self sufficient way to raise money. I have done covers of everything from Wiz Kalifa to SpongeBob  and Taylor Swift. It has turned into a fun, enjoyable way to raise money.
Tell us one fun fact about yourself! 
I have been to all 50 states. My extended family is all from Connecticut and we travel up there every summer. One year my dad decided to extend the trio and see parts of the country. We have been extending that trip ever since. I have 6 siblings so driving is our normal means of transportation, however, this summer we went to Alaska. That trip required a boat.
Why did you become involved with Dance Marathon at FSU?
I interned at the Children’s Miracle Network Hospital USF DM works with. I was in the pediatric oncology department. The kids are so positive and always have such bright smiles. It really gave me a perspective on life. I decided that this is ultimately a career path I want to peruse. When I found out that DM worked with the Children’s Miracle network I wanted to join.
What is your biggest personal goal for this year?
I don’t like to set goals for myself, I strive to go beyond what I think I can do. I want to be the best fundraiser possible. If I had to put a number on it, however, I would hope to raise $3000 this year. Ultimately, I want to be DM’s top fundraiser this year.
If you could sum up your love for DM in a sentence, what would you say?
Giving back to kids who inspire us everyday.
Austin, we are so proud of your commitment to the Miracle Kids and Families. Your leadership and passion for this cause are helping to make this DM the most successful one yet! Thank you!

Leave a comment